Mid-Atlantic Student Workshop on Programming Languages and Systems 2004
Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
Seton Hall University
South Orange, New Jersey, USA
April 3, 2004

The Mid-Atlantic Student Workshop on Programming Languages and Systems is a 
one-day annual workshop that provides students with the opportunity to 
present their research. Graduate and undergraduate students are encouraged 
to both present and attend. Students working on a research project are 
strongly encouraged to submit an article or poster to be considered for
inclusion in the workshop. Articles will appear in both the workshop's 
printed proceedings and the workshop's electronic proceedings.
Papers and posters are solicited on any topic related to programming 
languages and systems. Areas of interest include, but are not limited to, 
the following:

Implementation of Language Features
Compiler Construction and Optimization Techniques
Interaction between Compilers and Architectures
Program Analysis
Program Semantics and Program Verification
Storage Management Techniques
Languages and Compilers for Parallel Programming
Design of Programming Languages
Abstract Machine Architectures
Runtime Profiling and Performance Measurements
Debugging and Tracing
Type Checking
Teaching Programming Techniques

The keynote address for this year's workshop will be delivered by Dr. 
Christopher Okasaki ( from the 
US Military Academy at West Point. The title of Dr. Okasaki's  talk is 
"Change is Bad: The Joy of Immutability."

An abstract for the  keynote address can be found at . Details about the workshop, 
submissions, and directions to Seton Hall can  be found at the workshop's 
website (
Several hotels in the area are offering a discounted rate to conference 
participants, but the number of rooms at the discounted rate are limited.
We advise all participants to book hotel rooms as early as possible. MASPLAS 
2004 is sponsored by Microsoft Research, ACM SIGPLAN, and IBM Research.

Conference Chair:
     Marco T. Morazan, Seton Hall University

Steering Committee:
David Binkley, Loyola College in Maryland
Michael Hind, IBM Research
Phil Pfeiffer, East Tennessee State University
Lori Pollock, University of Delaware
Barbara G. Ryder, Rutgers University
David G. Wonnacott, Haverford College

Local Organizing Committee:
Patrick DeSomma
Victor Encarnacion
Marco T. Morazan (Chair)
Robert Moore
Barbara Mucha
Bert Wachsmuth
John Weber

Dr. Marco T. Morazan
Dept. Math and Computer Science
Seton Hall University

Last modified: Tue Feb 3 10:20:24 EST 2004